Other CPP Models

Birmingham, Alabama


The CPP model in Birmingham looks very similar to the NOLA CPP model. However, it does use different language to describe the structure. There are 95 recognized Neighborhood Groups in the system, and these neighborhoods are then grouped into 22 Communities, which represent 2 to 6 neighborhoods each. An officer from each neighborhood serves on one of the 22 Communities. These resemble the NOLA CPP District Councils; however the NOLA CPP model represents a condensed version of this idea, creating one District Council for each of the 13 Planning Districts. One representative from each of the communities is then selected to serve on the Citizen Advisory Board (CAB). This board advises city officials on important decisions and delivers information to the Community Advisory Committees.

Birmingham CPP – Established 1975

Participation Structure: 95 recognized neighborhoods 22 Communities

Atlanta, Georgia


Atlanta’s Citizen Participation Plan also looks similar to the New Orleans model though again the language is a bit different. The city has 242 neighborhoods that make up 25 Neighborhood Planning Units (NPUs). These NPUs are comparable to NOLA CPP’s District Councils in that they convene representatives from neighborhoods in a specific geographic area to discuss planning and zoning as well as quality of life issues. However, while the NOLA CPP’s District Councils would deal directly with the City, the Atlanta model has one more layer to its structure. One delegate from each NPU serves on the Atlanta Planning Advisory Board (APAB) which advises City Council and presents trainings and workshops to the neighborhoods. Atlanta’s CPP scope is more limited than other CPPs since it focuses on land use and planning issues and not all of the issues that affect neighborhood quality of life.

Atlanta CPP – Established 1975

Participation Structure: 242 recognized neighborhoods 25 Neighborhood Planning Units

Charleston, South Carolina


Charleston’s Citizen Participation Plan is currently housed under The Department of Planning and Neighborhoods. The structure is similar to the NOLA CPP model but much larger. They utilize a Neighborhood Council structure to represent neighborhoods in a specific area and currently have 89 active councils. The Neighborhood Councils function similarly to the NOLA CPP District Councils, maintaining contact with Neighborhood Association officers and providing an avenue of information to and from the City. Additionally, a Neighborhood Commission, made up of 12 citizens from each planning district appointed by the City, makes decisions regarding the Citizen Participation structure such as whether to recognize Neighborhood Councils. This body resembles the Community Advisory Group represented in the NOLA CPP model.

Charleston CPP – Established 1978

Participation Structure: 89 Neighborhood Councils 1 Neighborhood Commission

Portland, Oregon


In 1974, Portland established an Office of Neighborhood Associations to provide support to an official Citizen Participation structure. The structure adopted, and still utilized today, consists of 95 Neighborhood Associations which are served by five, independent non-profit District Coalition Offices and two city-run District Offices.  These offices provide technical and administrative assistance to the Neighborhood Associations, as well as capacity-building support. The Neighborhood District Coalitions closely resemble the District Council structure, providing support and a channel of information to and from city government for Neighborhood Associations. This structure is supported by the Office of Neighborhood Involvement.

Portland CPP – Established 1975

Participation Structure: 95 Neighborhood Associations – 7 District Offices

Dayton, Ohio


Dayton’s official citizen participation structure is currently supported by the Division of Citizen Participation. Under this structure, one of the City’s seven Priority Boards represents the City’s 65 neighborhoods and ultimately through a Chairperson’s Council, which oversees the Priority Board system. This system is comparable to the NOLA CPP model in aim and scope. Dayton’s Priority Boards provide forums for consideration of conflicting interests and develop partnerships to create consensus on complex city issues. The Priority Boards also form partnerships with developers and community institutions to ensure all stakeholders are represented in City decisions. The NOLA CPP model utilizes District Councils to achieve the same results.

Dayton Participation at a Glance – Established 1975

Participation Structure: 65 recognized neighborhoods 7 Priority Boards

New Orleans, Louisiana


The New Orleans Citizen Participation Program (NOLA CPP) Model is informed by the most successful elements of other cities models. Similar to the rest of the models, NOLA CPP structure has District Councils which facilitates communication between City government and the Neighborhood Associations. In addition, the District Councils provide resources and support to the Neighborhood Associations. The District Councils are organized around the City’s 13 Planning Districts and will bring together the recognized Neighborhood Associations in each district. One different aspect of the NOLA CPP Model from the other cities is that it includes Communities of Interest which will include groups and organizations that across neighborhood boundaries

New Orleans CPP

Participation Structure: 224 Neighborhood Associations 13 District Councils